Fear.

Fear; noun [mass noun] an unpleasant emotion caused by the threat of danger, pain, or harm

(http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/fear  Copyright © 2012Oxford University Press)

pho·bi·a; n.

1. A persistent, abnormal, and irrational fear of a specific thing or situation that compels one to avoid it, despite the awareness and reassurance that it is not dangerous.
2. A strong fear, dislike, or aversion.
(The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2009. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.)

A friend of mine the other day asked on Stalkbook no less, “What are your WORST fears?” (Or along those lines. It was more in depth) It has made me think. I fear quite a lot but why?
When you get down to the nitty gritty behind each fear, could you find the reasoning and so overcome the fear by logical thinking? Could a phobia stem fears of other things?

I hope you will delight me in letting me know your fears, for my next post inwhich we could perhaps discuss them? Use the following contact form.

My fears and phobias.

Firstly I shall split the two. I fear this and and have a phobia of that.

My fears: Deep sea waters. The dark.

My phobias: Grudge. Snakes. Hot water.
Why?

I fear deep sea waters for the obvious reasons – the unknown – not being able to see what is in there and may get me. I guess it stems to the shark attacks or that crab on the beach that decided I looked tasty and took a snip at me. Of course I know this is irrational – the chances of me being harmed are quite low, however it doesn’t stop that fear .. nor does the fear stop me having a little paddle. It is however constantly on my mind what may happen.

My fear of the dark has been with me since a child. As they say it isn’t the dark, but what is in the dark. I believe this is true, especially with one of my phobias, which makes this fear worse;see Grudge.

I have a phobia of The Grudge, that’s right, the movie. Shockingly I’ve just screwed myself over for you guys. Just the mention of it scares me, never mind the photos of it. I have no idea what makes me so frightened but I cannot go into the dark anymore, I can’t look under my bed or in my closet at night. The slightest noise freaks me out so much I cannot sleep. I will cry if even shown a photo from it, my ex made the noise ‘it’ makes – he ended up with sore private parts!

Snakes cause me to throw up, faint, sweat, have panic attacks.. and that is just caged onces.. I’m not very good with looking at them on on TV or in photos either. Makes me feel physically sick – I wish I knew why. Even baby ones affect me.

When I was younger, possibly 6 or 7. I was in the garden waiting for my neighbours paddling pool to fill up. We were playing around the garden as her dad said he was speeding it up by adding hot water so STAY AWAY. Well, her big sister came home and held the hose on me for approx 30 – 60 seconds with the scalding water, not believing me. I’m lucky I didn’t scar physically however mentaly it has, I cannot go near any water that is hotter than luke warm unless it is MY cup of coffee. I know it isn’t likely to happen again and it was a freak accident but it really scares me. My hot is just over everyone elses luke warm. 😦

 

Tell me, what are yours?

Leave a Reply

