Trolls

In Internet slang, a troll is someone who posts inflammatory,extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking readers into an emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion. The noun troll may refer to the provocative message itself, as in: “That was an excellent troll you posted.”

While many webmasters and forum administrators consider trolls a scourge on their sites, some websites welcome them. For example, a New York Times article discussed troll activity at 4chan and at Encyclopedia Dramatica, which it described as “an online compendium of troll humor and troll lore”. This site and others are often used as a base to troll against sites that their members can not normally post on. These trolls feed off the reactions of their victims because “their agenda is to take delight in causing trouble”.

Wikipedia

So, I think it is time we learn about the trolls of the internet. Some people need to more than others I discovered tonight after what was supposed to be a quick look on Stalkbook –Yes. I mean Facebook but really it’s a breeding ground for stalkers, no?

Well anyway. I was added to a group called “Petititon to get the page dead baby jokes banned off fb” See here for the post I made. In short I stated this kind of group is pointless as the group has been up for about 5 years, they change it slightly each time its reported to keep it alive. There have been lots of groups (I’ve been added to atleast 30) all wanting to close the page down.. They all failed.

When will people learn, trolls want attention, fuss and reaction. The idea of what the group does, sickens me. But will I go ranting and raving on it (and I know I’ve now had my part in feeding them with this blog) they will get their kicks out if it. I should know this. I do it on occassion in chatrooms. – Not to that extent though, just a bit of fun between people I ‘know’ and the moderators love me so I cant be that bad. 😀

Instead the guy in the group just got mouthy at me using my young age against me then accused me of being one of the people who set the sick page up.. Uhm. I think know a bit more about the internet than him considering I am the generation of the internet and computers mostly!  I know this kinda thing. I ended up being blocked for stating the unwanted obvious truth though..

But please people, please learn. A troll will get you and affect you if you let it. The best way to deal with it is to ignore it completely even if you are offended by them. If you react even the slightest. They win.

Leave a Reply

